How To

How to delete your Instagram account for good

Say goodbye to the Gram!

Are you an Instagram-aholic? If you find yourself looking at the app when you really should be doing other things, you might need to break up with the platform.

Thankfully, there’s an answer. You can delete your Instagram profile for good. Here’s what you need to know.

How to Get Rid of Instagram Forever

If you’re 100% sure that you want to get rid of your Instagram page forever, there’s a way that you can make that happen.

Of course – a word of caution first – you should know that this is a permanent deletion. That means that you will not be able to log back into your account later on and reactivate it. You’ll have you wave goodbye to all your pictures (assuming they aren’t backed up), followers and messages. It’s kind of a big deal.

So are you ready? Ermm, are you sure? No really… are you?

Okay, good. If you’ve made the decision to delete your page, the first step is to head to Instagram’s account deletion page. Instagram will then ask you to log into your account in your browser.

Next, you will have to give the reason that you are deleting your profile. When you’ve done that, there’s a final screen that allows you to click the big red button (okay, it’s neither big nor red… but you get the picture) to get rid of the account completely. Done.

How to Temporarily Disable Instagram

Does the word ‘forever’ give you the heebie-jeebies? We hear ya! Luckily, there’s a way in which you can temporarily disable your Instagram too. When you go through this process, it means that no one will be able to find or see your profile, but that you can bring the entire thing back to life whenever you please. Nice.

To disable your profile, you first need to head to the browser version of the app and sign in there. (You can’t disable your account in the app!) Click on the little person icon at the top of the screen and then press ‘Edit Profile’. Scroll all the way down the page and click on ‘Temporarily disable my account’. Again, you need to give a reason and then re-enter your password to confirm that you are disabling your account.

Should you ever decide to rejoin the realms of Instagram, it’s not too hard to do so. Just go back to the Instagram page in your browser and sign in with your account information. Doing so will reactivate your profile instantly, which means that everyone can see it again and you can begin using it just as before. Simple.

Leave a Comment